Workers’ compensation is insurance that is administered by the state. It is required for all employers. Through this insurance, workers who suffer from a work-related injury or illness may receive monetary compensation for their losses. (Compensation may include lost wages, medical care, and out-of-pocket expenses).
Massachusetts has a workers’ compensation system implemented to make sure that workers are protected by insurance if they get injured on the job or contract a work-related illness. It is required by Massachusetts General Laws c. 152, Section 25A to administer Workers’ Compensation insurance coverage for all employees. This insurance covers any reasonable and required medical treatment that is related to the work-related injury or illness. The insurance covers up to 60% of lost wages, travel costs for medical care, and even job retraining if it becomes necessary.
Workers’ compensation also pays for partial compensation in terms of lost wages following the first five calendar days of total or partial disability. The insurer or insured should be told as soon as practicable. After 21 days of inability to perform work, compensation is payable from the 1st day forward, but if the worker is unable to work for less than 21 days, compensation is payable from the 6th day onward.
In the state of Massachusetts, an injured worker can file a claim against the insurer within 4 years of knowledge. When filing, the claimant must complete Form 110 for the DIA (Department of Industrial Accidents) within the four year period. If the claim is denied by the employer/insurer, the claimant has 30 days to appeal the case, and move forward. Workers’ compensation benefits can be received immediately, or after conciliation, if it becomes a legal matter. These benefits are available until you’re able to return to work.