Keches Law Group would like to remind the public that effective August 1st, 2020, any person entering Massachusetts who is a visitor or returning to the state must abide by the new travel orders. It is important that we all do our part to help better the safety of everyone in the community.
Visitors in Massachusetts and any resident reentering the state from most other states will need to abide by the new travel order. If one does not comply, the threat includes a fine of $500 per day. States such as New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Hawaii are exempt from this order.
Any person entering Massachusetts from another state will need to complete a “Massachusetts Travel Form” and quarantine for two weeks unless they can offer a negative COVID-19 test result given no more than 72 hours prior to arriving in the state.
There are limited exemptions for those who are just passing through the state or commuting across state lines for work. Some other exemptions include traveling to Massachusetts for medical appointments and military personnel traveling under orders.
This order also applies to any students who may be returning to campuses for the fall semester.
Governor Baker emphasized the importance of travel relating to COVID-19 adding, “Do not travel here if you have symptoms of COVID-19, and if you are visiting from another state, take a moment to learn about the rules…”